WIP Striped Blocks Quilt | Scrap Awareness Month: July 2015

Here is the second installment of the Striped Blocks Quilt that I first posted a photo of it in Scrap Awareness Month: July 2015, where I declared July to be Scrap Awareness Month. Scrap Awareness Month, is a call to become reacquainted with your stash of whatever you have: yarn stash, fabric stash, embroidery floss stash, anything! The Scrap Awareness mantra is Take stock. Take scraps. Take victory. I am on a mission to become scrap free as preparation for moving house in September since a large percentage of my belongings fit within this scrap category. I need less faffing in my life and right now scraps are just another faff, when I know I should be seeing them with joy and wonderment since they were saved with the sacred thoughts of potential. So I wanted to honour the scraps potential, and all the time I spent cutting out and organising my scrap system, in a way that doesn’t require too much faffing about – so for one month only will I be dealing with scrap fabric.

Stacked Quilt WIP

I thought this sort of pattern would be good for using up some of the medium sized scraps. The rectangles I needed to cut out for it were still quite small so I was able to use up some of the awkward scraps too. It was real quick to cut up, I used scissors and pinned paper templates, but you could be lightening speed if you used a rotary cutter! I had been saving up lots of fabric in pinks, greens and blues, so the quilts I am working on are mostly these colours at the moment. I cant decide if I should put a border on it yet. I am halfway through it, so I’ll focus on finishing getting it all together before I contemplate over that.  If you have any colour suggestions though, that would be very helpful! I basically have blues and pinks and greens as options.

detail quilt

For now I have been focusing on just making the quilt tops, but I think I will move on to the actual quilting pretty soon. I do need to sort out my big bag of quilt batting; I’ve been putting this off since it sounds like a boring task. I am thinking of sewing all the offcuts together to make a larger piece, I‘ve done this before to save on material waste and money, but always whip-stitched it by hand – this time I might just attempt a large zig-zag on the machine….  I’ve got loads of offcuts of polyester batting, which I don’t want to use because it is a terror for bearding, but I’ve got loads of it! Maybe I’ll use the stuff for bags… quilted bags are fun, yes?

As always… Take stock. Take scraps. Take victory.

One thought on “WIP Striped Blocks Quilt | Scrap Awareness Month: July 2015

Leave a Reply

