Snit’s all done |Scrap Awareness Month: July 2015

Looks like I ran out yarn.

IMG_5284

oh dear.

I wanted to destroy the yarn scrap collection I had collected. And I did. But without it, I am… nothing.

I admit it. I feel lost without all that scrap about me, it was a nice project that I could do without looking at it, meaning I could watch the TV in full appreciation, which was nice since I usually end up listening to TV since it is hard to not have something in my hands!

While I am sad to have to put this project on hold while I create more scrap yarn, I feel accomplished that I have done some good stash busting work! I wanted to make it as a pet blanket to send to a dogs center, but it is still far too small at 15″x15″ approximately. I made it by tying together scraps of yarn, which I then crocheted, then knitted. Three stages, but it was super quick and easy. You can see the progress reports I made when making it in these two posts, Snitting Knitting and Snitting is the New Knitting.

IMG_5288

I’ll try to be happy I have finished this. I actually finished it a few days ago, but it took me a while to get some photos of it. Since then, I have had time to focus on other projects, such as The Knitted Blue Jumper, the Striped Blocks Quilt and the Crumb Quilt, which I’ll give you an update on soon. And the latest most exciting project…knit-a-sock-along.Β All that, and I am making a quilt for this years Festival of Quilts in Birmingham! I’m really looking Β forward to that, and I went out and bought all my fabrics today…stipend! And now I have two weeks to make it. I dread deadlines, I do.

IMG_5302

Maybe the Snitting Project represents a simpler time, a time of TV watching and bamboo knitting needles. Now I have to step into the present, where deadlines exist and there isn’t time to watch TV. So I says, “goodbye snitted thing, until next time” as I put it away. “It was nice working with you.”Β 

Shared with Inspiration Monday at Refresh Restyle

7 thoughts on “Snit’s all done |Scrap Awareness Month: July 2015

  1. What a lovely idea! I’m definitely going to try this as soon as I get some free time. That might mean that I’ll miss scrap awareness month this year but that will give me time to plan for July 2016 πŸ™‚

    1. Imagine how many scraps you could collect in a whole year! It makes me feel sick thinking about it. But it would make for a very productive Scrap Awareness Month!

      1. I think could be fun! Part of me wants to do this in January rather than July – kind of Yarn Craft 2015 summary and an opportunity to see how my use of fibers has changed in a year. But I’m kind of a dork like that πŸ˜‰

      2. Ooh, I like that idea! I think you can declare Scrap Awareness Month whenever you fancy it, and like the dogs at christmas, scraps aren’t just for July, they are for life. I’m forever collecting them or fighting them πŸ™‚

      3. Oooh, now I feel oddly powerful… I say, that scraps should go in a big 32 oz mason jar, and when that’s full, they need to turn into something. This keeps everything tidy, provides a nice decorative element on a shelf or desk and honors the fibers.

      4. Yes then you would have a huge selection to work from too. I’m trying to tie mine together as they appear, and am keeping them in a little tin at the moment. I’ve got a worm length bit of yarn so far as I don’t have any projects that make scraps at the moment – wouldn’t look so great in a jar as it is now! I like the idea of it being in glass so you could see it grow through the year πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

