Blogger’s Quilt Festival | Baby Housetops Quilt

Good Day!

I bring to you my Scrappy Category entry into the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, as it is my favourite finished quilt in the last 6 months. It is inspired by the African American improvisational block pattern called Housetops. It works similarly to a Log Cabin block, but worked corner to corner rather from center out. And, with it being improv, you can go mental. I’m not sure if I went completely mad, but I tried my best at it. I did get lots of pattern into this quilt though. The objective was for it to be heavy on the patterns and contrasts: I think it worked quite successfully. If you agree.. you can vote right here! At the same time you can look at the competition!

Scrappy Quilt Small

Scrappy Quilt Small Squished

Have you ever seen the Quilter’s of Gee’s Bend giving demonstrations on their improvised scrap piecing method? It consists of a bucket full of scraps that get picked out and sewn in one swoop. They don’t even look at the right side of the fabric, it just gets eaten by the machine without hesitation. They may aswell be blind.

Yet somehow, the quilt still looks good. I don’t know how they do it. Whenever I try and recreate this method of spontaneous scrapping, I become super aware of the fact that I am not blind. Consistently, improv quilting is the only activity that triggers a desire to become so. If I weren’t so picky, if I weren’t so sighted! Oh how much easier this task would be!

Until that blessed day arrives I’ll just carry on nit-picking my way through my scrap bucket, turning the lights on low, and occasionally squinting to make things look like they could cohabit a quilt, for ever and ever.

Scrappy Quilt Small Backing

Bloggers Quilt Fetsival button

Shared with Lets Make Baby Quilts

2 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival | Baby Housetops Quilt

  1. So glad to have found you via the Blogger’s Quilt Festival – that’s what it’s all about, right?! Great quilt, love the colours 🙂 Wish you had an ‘about’ page – I want to know more about you 🙂 (Not a stalker honest!) You’re in Manchester? I’m down in Cornwall. I don’t know why that’s relevant, it probably isn’t, but I’m waving, helloooo! Ok, I’m going now. Great quilt!!!

    1. Aha! What a lovely comment. Thank you so much. ☺ Oops! I did some messing about with my menus, my about page must have got lost! Thanks for noticing, I’ll sort that out tomorrow! ☺ yes, I live in manchester now after having gone to uni in Brighton. I saw a mancunian seagull the other day, it was so small! Like a third of the size of a brighton one. Im sure the cornish gulls are just as greedy as brighton ones! We used to go to St Ives with my grandparents each summer. And I wave from up north t’ down south hello down there! .. off I go to stalk you….

Leave a Reply

