Knitted Wash Cloth + Free Pattern!

Christmas! It is almost here! Still Knitting presents…aren’t we all?

IMG_6768

I had to step away from even attempting to blog for the past two weeks. I have been doing lots of stuff; Christmas eating, Christmas drinking, and Christmas making! It has been good. I also went to visit my Grandad last week, and saw my brother while there too. It was nice to see them both. My Grandma passed away in October, so this is his first Christmas alone. At first he said he wasn’t going to put up any decorations, and he didn’t want Christmas to happen. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived to see that the place had been decked out the same way Grandma did it each year. We had a nice stay, but I have noticed something different about him. Now, a well known fact about my Grandad is that he is a great story teller; he’ll add sound effects at every opportunity (which I love!) I think Grandma must have had the power to tell him to be quiet, or to please stop telling stories. Without Grandma there to tell him to shut it, Grandad comes out with the ‘stories we never heard before.’ Oh yes. I never thought I would ever hear my Grandad tell a story in which his foreskin gets caught in a zipper. Oh.

I’m sorry, that really doesn’t relate to knitting at all! I don’t know what made me think of that… oh yes, I was knitting a wash cloth and Grandad joked that he doesn’t think I’ll have enough time to finish his scarf while I’m there. That’s more like it.

IMG_6769

I have found out that knitting wash cloths are super easy, super quick. I have knitted these cloths for my Mum using a slipstitch pattern; which looks so fancy! Slipstitch colourwork is great; absolutely try it out if you haven’t already. It is easier than stranding or fair-isle because you work with only one colour yarn at any time. I got my pattern from The Knitters Handbook from The Craft Library, and it is called Ladders. All you need to know is how to knit, purl and slip. EASY.

I am using a 50/50 Bamboo and Cotton yarn. It is so soft that when I am holding it, I think about the feeling of caterpillars on your hand. I can see it on my skin, but I can only just about feel it. So good! Anyway, I have no clue if this was a good choice of yarn or not, I am unsure of the properties of bamboo. But it was 64p per ball so I got it! I know for certain that cotton is good, infact if you want to make these try and get 100% cotton yarn, or at the least mostly cotton. It has good absorbency, unlike synthetics or wool.

When I finish off the third one, I will block them, they are a little wonky as I kept pulling the yarn tight on the edges, oops. Not good. My Mum won’t notice though.

IMG_6763

Here is the pattern, incase you want to join in. I make mine in a day or two. I’m sure if your quick you can do it in one sitting, but I am not that way inclined!

THE WASH CLOTH

As it is a wash cloth, it doesn’t really matter about tension. Just use the needle size recommended by your cotton yarn packet.

I am using: Bamboo Jazz, by Fibra Natura, on 4mm.

Cast on 41sts, with A (loosely). Your cast on number needs to be a multiple of 6 plus 5 extra.  Eg. 36+5=41

Row 1. (RS) With A, K2 *sl1 wyb, K5, rep from * to last 3sts, sl1wyb, K2

Row 2 With A, P2, sl1 wyf, *P5, sl1 wyf, rep from * to last 2 sts, P2

Row 3 With B, *K5, sl1 wyb, rep from * to last 5 sts, K5

Row 4 With B, *K5, sl1 wyf, rep from * to last t sts, K5

Repeat the four rows to continue pattern until you have knitted two rows short of a square. End on a Row 4.

With A, Knit to the end.

With A, Purl to the end.

With A Cast Off loosely.

If you want to, you can crochet around the edge. I think it made it look a bit neater, I chose to round out the corners, plus I was able to add a little hanging loop!

IMG_6775

IMG_6756

I hope that this is helpful in some way. The instructions are somewhat sparse, but I didn’t want to make anyone feel that they must use a certain yarn or needle. Use what you have got, your just knitting a square after all! And at some point, it might be used to wash someone’s under arms. Perspective!

Uh oh. I just spied a moth float across my room. Well, not float, fly. I’m going to go catch him. I have far too many things he would like to ruin to let him stay. Well, that is the rest of my day planned for me.

Have a great day!

Linked up with Tutorials+Tips at Homestories A to Z and Tip Me Tuesday at TipJunkie

6 thoughts on “Knitted Wash Cloth + Free Pattern!

  1. Super cute! I think your Grandpa and my husband would get along 🙂 He’s also a storyteller. I’m casting on for my last cowl and will finally be finished with Christmas knitting! Woo hoo! I’ll be so happy to be finished with acrylic (machine wash/dry) black yarn. Those Northeasterners, ya know! I don’t want to even look at black yarn for a long time…LOL

    1. Haha 🙂 How great is it that you are almost done!? Practically done! I’m far away, although fortunately I only have that last facecloth and a hat to knit. And they are both quick things to do (unless you do them while watching Harry Potter) I spread myself out across a range of crafts this year…It is clay bowls day today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

