The Cut Throat World of Quilting

Acording to the gypsy quilter I am a funny, chocolate-loving quilter. I was a little skeptic. I think I was right to question this outcome because it then told me Adolf Hitler was a giggly and sweet quilter. Maybe he should have quilted more often. And maybe I should too, but not because I want to be a funny chocolate-loving quilter, I want the opposite; serious and chocolate-hating. I suit the mafia face, no?

IMG_7472 - Copy (2)

Yes, it is time to take quilting to the next level; to bring myself out of the fun zone and into the cut-throat world of quilt blocks. I feel I have not explored this territory enough, as it isn’t a technique I could just revert to on a whim. If I want to make a quilt block I still need to plan every little thing. And then there is the problem with my patience. Now, I am the Ambassador of Patience. As a printmaker, quiltmaker and knitter, (and procrastinator) you get used to the idea of slow results. Yet, there is a limit to my patience, because when it comes to making an entire quilt out of repeated quilt blocks, I feel close to death. One of the first quilts I began to make is still waiting for me to add some more Ohio Stars.

IMG_7238

And so, to further my education on the subject, I have signed up for the 2016 Stash Bee! The Stash Bee, for those who have not heard of it, is where you get grouped in ‘Hives’ of 12. Each month someone gets to be Queen Bee and choose a block for all the other worker bees to make for you. I only very slightly dread the thought. Of course the result will be worth it in the end, but boy oh boy, I fear the clouds of despair will hang low in the skies on piecing days.

This makes me sound like I am being forced to do it. Honestly, I am buzzing for it! This is one of the most interesting things I have been able to participate in, and it is always fun to do something new. I need to get over the negative mentality I have over quilt blocks, and I feel that one block per month will help me see that I can do it. Oh please, Audrey, my Hive Mama, don’t kick me out! I promise I’ll do good! 

IMG_7234

I’m just a bit apprehensive. It is new territory. I don’t want to sound egotistical, but I don’t doubt my abilities, I mean I’m sure I’ll be able to knock out the blocks that are given to me, with enough time and effort that is. And obviously I have all of you guys to support me! I think it is more the thought of making something for someone else, what if they don’t like it? What if my green doesn’t go with their green? Oh no. 

I will have to get over that fear I guess, and access the serious chocolate-hating quilter that lies within me. She is somewhere. And with that state of mind, I will conquer! I will be piecing blocks with my eyes closed! (not recommended). There is a small chance that in the end the Gypsy Quilter was right about me; that I am not serious, but funny. I am not chocolate-hating, but chocolate-loving. But it’ll be okay. I’ll just laugh it off. Then go choke myself with some chocolate buttons.

Shared with Quilt Story and Fabric Frenzy Friday

 

8 thoughts on “The Cut Throat World of Quilting

      1. Woo hoo! You go girl! I’ve committed to a 1 year 12 skeins 12 projects for knitting this year 🙂 Basically, it’s making a project from one skein of yarn for each month of the year. January is finished with my Quick Socks 🙂

  1. Apparently, I am a “squirmy, and perfect coffeholic.” I own the squirmy comment; I feel like I always need to be doing something, so I don’t sit still at home or at work. But “perfect”? No where near! And “coffeholic?” I’ve never drank coffee! Okay, a friend let me have a sip of her hazelnut coffee (she was trying to convert me) last fall, but I find it too bitter. I’m a tea person, and I prefer black or rooibos tea. ;P Have fun in Stash Bee!

    1. I’m pretty sure this Gypsy is scamming us. Some people! If your squirmy, you probably don’t need the caffeine! Yesterday I bought some white chocolate and macadamia nut coffee… so good, though admittedly it sounds and smells sweeter than it is. I am a huge fan of Rooibos too! I’m suddenly really thirsty… 🙂

  2. Quilt blocks are viscous. With practice you can tame them and make them more fun. Worse case if you hate them, you can chop them into something entirely different. This is my first time reading your block and loved it.

    1. Haha. Agreed! I have been chopping some ugly blocks I made, but not with any real artistic sensibility, rather it is the I’m going to feed you to the dogs type of sensibility.I have seen some interesting reblocks of blocks though, it would be a great skill to have one day. Thank you so much for your comment Tisha, I am excited to get to know your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

