I’m just a girl standing in front of a blog reader asking them questions about knitting.

I am just a girl, standing in front of you asking for you to help me. And love me.

Please help me, I have a knitting problem.

Question number 1. What do I do with this?

IMG_7605

It is a sample of a stranded knitting chart pattern that I wanted to try out. I didn’t put a project to it other than practicing stranding. But I rather like it… it took great concentration, and I don’t want to frog it. But what can it’s purpose be?

IMG_7603

I thought of maybe a wash cloth, hand towel or a hot pad as that is the sort of size it is at. Which leads me to question number 2.

Question number 2. What should bamboo viscose and wool yarn be used for?

The yarn I am using is called Baby Bamboo, by Sirdar. It is 80% bamboo and 20% wool. I am worried that the wool content will make it unsuitable as a wash cloth or hand towel. I should maybe test how absorbent it is first.

Look at how freakin’ neat it is though! I really want it to become something and not sit there as a lonesome square of what was once was. Do you know what I mean? I want to look at it, all the time, everyday for at least six months please. I am just a girl asking you these “requirements”.

IMG_7617

Question number 3. What would you do?

Please throw me some age old wisdom truths at me!

If you have any advice, ideas or you just want to say a hello please do so in the comments, I really appreciate every single peep!

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “I’m just a girl standing in front of a blog reader asking them questions about knitting.

  1. it’s very pretty! i’d be tempted to pop it in a frame and hang it up where it could make me smile every day. you can always take it down later if you need an emergency hot pad! i’ve also seen folks who have corkboards with a bunch of lovely swatches pinned up, it always looks so creative and inspirational. of course, all of my swatches are just crammed into a bag in my yarn closet but someday i’ll do something beautiful with them!

    1. Ooooh… What fancy ideas you have! I really like the cork board idea, I will have to have a look on Pinterest for some tips. Also, framing would be a quick option too. I LIKE IT. Thank you for your help!

  2. Question 1: Have you thought about continuing the pattern and making a scarf or a cowl? It’s really beautiful! If you made a scarf, you could make two panels and then stitch up the middle so the roses wouldn’t be upside down on one side.

    Question 2: This type of yarn is ideal for baby clothing; which means that it’s also ideal for any clothing. It’s also machine washable…bonus!

    Question 3: Refer back to Question 1. I also like the idea of framing it 😀

    1. Hi Paula, sorry for delay in reply, my computer has been acting up alot the last week! Thankyou for answering all three questions! Winner. I thought about turning it into a scarf, but its just too much effort. I need to finish those socks! As for it being for babies, I can see why; it is super soft! It is also called BABY BAMBOO…but in my defence they also have a yarn called Big Bamboo. R rated stuff that yarn. And finally, I am tempted by the thought of cowl, because I haven’t made one before, and would be nice to wear this pattern. I will have a look into what would be required of me! 🙂 Thanks

  3. Beautiful work! It really would be a shame to frog it, even if it was just for practice. I have no new ideas on how you could use it, but the already suggested ideas of framing it or making it into a cowl sound very nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

