Pattern Design | I Cacti Believe it!

Second attempt at pattern design cactus transparent.jpg

Boy oh boy. This week I finally decided I would crack the code of making repeat patterns using photoshop! Despite having studied art and photography in both high school and college and then at university, I never really caught the point of photoshop. I just didn’t need it for what I was making.

A part of me has always regretted not taking the time to learn more about how to use it, because it’s sort a requirement for most arts jobs now. And while I know how to use my rather old Elements 6.0, (yes, the newest version to date is 14) I am not that confident with all the features on Adobe CS.

One thing I have been wanting to do for ages is to create repeat patterns using photoshop, because in this case it would be easier than doing it all by hand. But I had been putting it off because I didn’t want the chore of having to learn how. But after watching a tutorial online and seeing that it was actually quite a simple process, I pottered around on my computer and played with it. They are not perfect by any means. I’m still struggling on some parts of the process, but I feel that it is a limitation of the software and not me… I’m sureΒ there is a way and I have just not found it yet. Yet, I’m not so much trying to create a finished product than I am trying to just play and answer ‘what happens if I do this?’ So for now, done is better than perfect.

I went with a Cactus theme. I like plants. But mostly Cacti are easy to paint… The top one is my first attempt, and then below is the second one. And I had a play with different colour combinations too.

 

Cacti sample 4 block repeat third trial original copycacti selection yellow not well lined upSecond attempt at pattern design cactus yellow copySecond attempt at pattern design cactus blueSecond attempt at pattern design cactus copy

What I would really like to do is to print my own patterns onto fabric. How fun would that be? I’m emotionally attached to fabrics that are made by other people, so just imagine how intense it would be to have designed the fabric pattern that you are using as well! I might pass out.

If you could design your own fabric, what would you put on it?

Shared with Fabric Frenzy FridayΒ and Thank Goodness It’s Finally Finished

12 thoughts on “Pattern Design | I Cacti Believe it!

  1. I love your cacti! It isn’t always easy to learn new programs, especially for me! How fun it would be to put a design to fabric. Me, I haven’t a clue what I would do! I can barely draw a straight line!!

  2. Awesome – I think my favourite it the single type of cacti on the orange background. I love photoshop. Mostly nowadays I just use it to touch up photos but the possibilities are endless.

    1. Thankyou so much Nicola, isn’t it so much fun? It is so versitile, I save far too many slight varying versions of the same image, I’ll need to get a external hard drive at this rate!

    1. Oh my! A desert! A ranch! That sounds like so much fun, and quite quiet. But I’m really only basing my vision of this on the old west movies. I really hope your winter wardrobe is 99% denim and boots with spurs – but I understand if it is not. πŸ™‚ To compare your desert land to mine, I have a small potted cactus that I sat down to draw one time. I got a bit bored because it really is just a 2 inch spiky lump. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

