February Quilt Block | Stash Bee 2016

Here it is, a little late. The February Block for the Stash Bee!

IMG_7948.JPG

It is going to Jacqueline, the brain behind Big Nutty Quilter. Who asked for a super simple, super quick Log Cabin Block. Yep, I don’t know why I am so late with it either.

This block was right up my alley, all strips and scraps! It is quite a large block, at 15″ x 15″ but I think that is an excellent idea. I always think of blocks being much smaller, but I guess they can be any size. And the bigger the block, the less you need to make! Or the bigger the quilt. Whichever one suits you.

IMG_7952

I made the edge strips super wide just in case my idea of square is not quite the same as Jacqueline’s. I haven’t squared it up properly, as you can tell. Jacqueline requested that she would want to do that; another thing I like to hear!

I threw in a couple more strips, including the cat fabric. Which is one of my favourites at the moment. And I know Jacqueline has a couple of cats, so thought she might like it too. Also, they are a good defence in case of any difficulties in making the quilt blocks all go together. Because what would scare me aboutΒ a scrap quilt made by lots of people is that there might be definite obvious blocks that don’t really merge well. So in case mine are those blocks, the scraps might fix that!

Here is the link to the January Block plus information on the Stash Bee, if you want to find out more.

IMG_7953

Shared with Fortworth Fabric StudioΒ and Crazy Mom QuiltsΒ and Sew Cute Tuesday

2 thoughts on “February Quilt Block | Stash Bee 2016

  1. It sounds like you found out the best kept secret to large blocks (bigger blocks = less blocks needed). I’m getting a chuckle that your block includes both cat and fish fabric.

Leave a Reply

