DIY Easter Chicks Garland

IMG_8020IMG_8028IMG_8001.JPGAre these little guys not the cutest little things you ever did see? I love them so much. I bought 24 of them. I am so ready for Easter.

To find a way of justifying the swarm of little Easter Chicks in my house at the moment, I decided to try and find a way to craft with them. So here is my answer: another DIY Easter Garland for the internet. Yay!

IMG_7990

What you will need to make this garland:

  1. Felt in a shade of egg. Remembering that Easter Eggs come in all the colours
  2. Easter Chicks
  3. Paper + Scissors + something round for the template
  4. Ribbon or yarn
  5. Fabric Marker
  6. Sewing machine or needle and thread if your patient

 

Method:

  1. Make your egg template. Grab something round and about 1-2″ in diameter. I just used the bottom of a glass. Then draw around your circle onto a piece of paper. Draw out a zig-zag line through the middle of your circle and then cut it out.
  2. Use this template to cut out your felt. You could pin it, but I think it is easier and more accurate to just draw around the template onto the felt using a fabric marker. Cut out your shapes – as many as you want, depending on how long you want your garland! It could be a good point here to test your egg by sewing one up and seeing if your chick sits in it well.IMG_8005
  3. Now you need to cut your ribbon. Cut two longer lengths for each end of your garland, these need to be long enough to tie around what you plan to hang the garland from. And then for the pieces in between the eggs I cut 3″ lengths.
  4. Your going to sew the eggs right sides together so the ribbons need to be on the inside. See the picture below. This is how the ribbons are arranged then you sandwich them between the two pieces of felt.IMG_8008
  5. Sew around the edge. I mean the edge! I was going at 3mm in or something like that. I did not add a seam allowance to my template, but you could do that if you are not comfortable sewing on the edge like that! It does make more sense. IMG_8013
  6. Turn inside out and you have your first egg! Now you need to carry on the chain. Use the ribbon at the end of your first egg to add onto the second. Make sure the ribbon doesn’t get twisted or you’ll have upside down eggs! I did that.IMG_8018
  7. Pop all your little chickies into their new egg beds! You might have to weight some of them down, I found that putting a penny into the middle ones made the whole garland much more stable.

IMG_8019

IMG_8033IMG_8027IMG_8036

I love the way they poke their little beaks out from their eggs! I didn’t end up using all 24 chicks on this garland, so there may be more Easter crafts yet. Or I might just keep them about the house. It’s quite nice having little colourful friends all around my stuff. I really need a dog.

Shared with Craft Dictator and Flaunt it Friday and The Creative Collection and Nifty Thrifty Sunday

6 thoughts on “DIY Easter Chicks Garland

    1. Aren’t they just? It actually took me ages to find them this year. I always thought of them as staple Easter decorations, but the shops apparently thought otherwise. The fact that they came in different colours makes up for it though! 🙂

  1. So cute! I love those little chicks too… I have some with bunny ears and some with little straw Easter bonnets. They make me happy every time I pull them out to decorate!

    1. Are you for reals? I want those, they sound great! Yes, they just remind me of being a kid. I used to carry them around in my pocket and thought of them as my little pets.

      1. Oh they are everything I imagined them to be! No I have never heard of that shop, it sounds super American though 🙂 I thought I was crazy for considering making them little hats and ears, but now that you’ve mentioned it…

Leave a Reply

