OMG it’s April. | Quilt Goals

OMG=ONE MONTHLY GOAL

I’m setting myself the goal of making a mini quilt for OMG. This will be the first time I take part in this challenge so I’m excited! So excited that I sort of did most of it last night… I was just playing around with piecing and having fun with some stripy fabric and then BAM! 2 hours later it was done, dusted, a Friday finish. I do love working with stripes! I even managed to do some curves, but only one features in this top. Fancy stuff this right here! I don’t know how I will quilt it, I kind of want to quilt a story into it. For other story quilts I have always used quite plain neutral fabrics, not green and stripy. I would like to see how it looks on a colourful quilt top… but I do not want to detract from the stripes. Oh it’s a dilemma! I could practice a FMQ design as I do need practice in this area. I just need help.

What do you think about the quilting side of things? Β I’m still new at free motion quilting so would love to hear from you, please tell me all your secrets! What would you do?

IMG_8475IMG_8465IMG_8464

Shared at Crazy Mom QuiltsΒ and OMG at Red Letter Quilts

2 thoughts on “OMG it’s April. | Quilt Goals

  1. I love what you’ve done with the stripes. Quilting is usually where I get stuck. I’m getting better by first thinking – what aspect of the quilt do I wish to highlight. Then I try to push the quilting in that direction.

    1. Thanks Catherine – that is really helpful thinking! I really like the stripes too and would like to make sure that they still stand out once quilted. So maybe something a bit geometic would suit it better than quilting a picture… ugh, this stage is the hardest bit for sure! Thank you so much for your help, I will definitely ask myself that question before I quilt now!

Leave a Reply

