Knitting Socks | week 16

I woke up this morning to snow! Snow! No wonder I was cold last night. I had to wake up and get up early this morning; I’ve given in my notice for moving out my flat and there is a viewing this morning at half nine. My place is a bit of a mess as I sort through what I am taking when I move to Portland. It’s hard work, but I had an epiphany last night about quilts. All along I thought I would have to quilt the quilt tops before I go, but I’ve just realised it would save me room if I brought them with me just as tops. It would also be cheaper to quilt them there because quilting supplies are less expensive. So now I feel relieved and less guilty about just wanting to piece my remaining fabric stash into some quilt tops. Phew.

My knitting stash was fairly small to begin with, so I’ve sold it on ebay. Except for current projects and one special sock yarn; I’ll bring them with me. It’s quite nice to have a fresh start. There is a build up of craft materials that only when faced with having to carry it to the united states am I willing to get rid of. It seems silly now, but I’ve held onto things for years thinking I’d use it.

On to the sock. It is Thursday after all, and time to talk about socks.

IMG_9120IMG_9117

I’d say slow and steady progress. I’m out of the ribbing and stuck in stockinette for a bit. Did a good knitting session while watching House – I have found that having the knitting in my hand is helpful, even necessary while watching this show. I’m forever having to block the screen with it whenever they show injections or scalpels going into skin. Yesterday they showed a girl pooping out of her mouth. It’s gross, but I love Hugh Laurie. Did anyone else watch the series called The Night Manager? Please do. He plays an actual baddie!

Why not go and see what my co- sock knitters Paula from Spin a YarnΒ and Alex from Alex and Knits are up to this week – we do like socks on a Thursday!

 

3 thoughts on “Knitting Socks | week 16

  1. How exciting! Isn’t it crazy how a move will change your priorities on what you need to keep? I did that when we moved across country two years ago from Fort Lauderdale, FL to San Jose, CA. Good to see you made some progress on your sock! It’s looking good πŸ™‚ I loved watching House and adore Hugh Laurie. My husband and I went to a concert of his last year in Napa, CA. We were in the front row and had some of the best seats in the house. I also own his CD’s. I’ll have to look up that show and see if we get it here πŸ™‚

    1. I know, I didn’t really think I had that much stuff until I compared it next to a suitcase and my little arms. It feels nice to clear out though doesn’t it? Ah, that is amazing that you got to see him play! Up close and personal too. The Night Manager is a BBC drama, but had funding from america, so I should think it would be available somewhere for you… it would seem unfair otherwise! πŸ™‚ Off to see your sock.

Leave a Reply

