OMG April | Mini Quilt Goal Finish

I actually achieved my One Monthly Goal for April! A nice finish for Friday too! The goal I set was to make a mini quilt. I managed to make the top really early on, but that’s usually the easiest bit because it is my favourite part of quilting. It becomes hard for me when the time comes to quilt it. Quilting is harder to undo so I spent alot of time, most of the month, looking at the quilt and trying to think of what to do. The advice I was given was to think about what aspect of the quilt I wanted to highlight – and it wasthe stripes. So I decided to do some more lines all across it. You can see what I did more on the back. I’m happy with it, and it was fun to just improv both the piecing and the quilting. I think I’ll be making more of these little buggers. Oh and I tried a new labelling system where I just quilted in my initials and the year, do you like?

IMG_9095.JPGIMG_9149IMG_9167IMG_9174IMG_9163IMG_9166

 

29 thoughts on “OMG April | Mini Quilt Goal Finish

  1. i really like how the quilting turned out, and the color is so wonderful for spring. Although I like piecing and seeing the quilt come together, I think quilting is my favorite part. By the time I have the quilt top close to finished, I usually have a few potential quilting designs in my head…though I also spend long periods of time staring at the quilt!

    1. Thank you! That’s a good plan to think about quilting ideas while making it. I need to train myself to stare at my quilt and think about about the quilting – usually I am just thinking ‘is it big enough for me to fit under yet?’ I really enjoy your blog by the way, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. There’s something so liberating about this quilt. I really, really like it. I love the way you did the improv piecing, and the quilting is the perfect compliment to that piecing. And of course the colors are some of my favorites! Great job!

  3. Wonderful job on the mini! I really love how you signed your name on the front of the quilt. And, your ‘label’ will never fade or fall off.

Leave a Reply

