The One Where I Move to Portland, Oregon

IMG_3941

So yes. I made it.

I’m in the great land of the free. Phew.

It has been very… roller-coaster-y.

But I am glad to have finally reached into this blog again. It is like a home away from home. A snippet of normalcy. Each time I would set myself up to blog, something would get in the way.

IMG_3944 (1)

I’m not trying to sound rude or anything, but…I was just too busy to blog it seems. I’m still on the busy side of things, yes, but not really with actually activity. It’s like mental busyness. Or emotional busyness. I can’t seem to think straight or feel completely relaxed. You can read that as I’m staying in a hostel because I cannot afford to stay in a hotel and I’m not a hostel person. Like at all. For instance, the last few days I’ve been down with a cold from all the travelling so I decided to nest up in the TV room. I was also feeling pretty homesick, even though it has only been 6 days. I was conveyor belting cookies into my mouth all happy to be able to have some privacy to be able to just really pig it up while watching some TV. Then this guy comes in and ruins it. To be fair to him, he did ask nicely and I did say yes welcome in! But he still ruined my piggy evening in. The whole problem with hostels is the idea they have that it is a communal living space, so everywhere I go there they are again. (I am actually a very nice person. I just like private time.)

IMG_3945

So yes. I’m still a little busy getting used this new way of life of communal living while trying to find a home and learning the transport system and figuring out what the coins are ( I’m so bad at using coins). I am having fun, and I am exhausted beyond belief! But I guess that means I’m getting a lot done, right? I will admit to you right now, even though it makes me sound so lame, one of my favourite pastimes so far is walking around supermarkets. Every one I pass I just got to go in and see! Salad bars are everywhere! You can buy hot soup at the supermarket! There is about 10 variations of the same product, it is crazy. I love it! I obviously need to get some friends.

I do have a few posts that I prepared before hand, a kind of ‘here’s one that I made earlier’ type of thing. I knew I was running out of time to blog to my normal routine before I left, but I had time to get photos of some projects I had been working on and wanted to share with you all. So keep your eyes peeled for that! And, I’ll try to keep you posted with my exciting adventures in Portland, of course.

Portland sign sq

 

17 thoughts on “The One Where I Move to Portland, Oregon

  1. OMG! I thought that was why you disappeared and I am so happy to know you are alive and well! Welcome to America, the home of the brave and free 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about your adventures. The supermarkets are just supermarkets to me; however I really don’t have anything to compare them to. It sounds amazing coming from your eyes. Americans do seem to be creatures of excess. Why have three different types of cereal, when you can have a whole aisle dedicated to cereal? LOL…I hope you are able to find someplace soon that fits your budget and privacy needs. It would drive me batty to have to share my space (actually I do have a husband…however, he doesn’t really count) with strangers, so I feel you! Again, so glad to see you back on and happy that you are getting somewhat settled 🙂

    1. Hi Paula 🙂 I keep taking photos of the food in supermarkets, never really considering that I’m just taking pictures of what must seem like really boring stuff to other people! 🙂 I think I’m really close to finding a place to live! I think, I think. I hope. Nice to hear from you! 🙂

      1. Just so you know, we actually just call it the grocery store here 🙂 I’m sure it is truly amazing. If I think back to when I was a little kid and was shopping in our country grocery store, I’m sure it probably was what you are most likely used to. I had no idea it was so different until you said something about it on your first trip to Portland. It’s so good to see your face again, even if it was just virtually. I missed you! Alex and I have been keeping each other busy though commenting on each others posts 🙂

      2. I’ve missed checking in with you and your socks too! 🙂 Yes, I’m going to have to start adopting some new words, it just feel weird saying things like Grocery Store instead of shop or supermarket. Or gas instead of petrol. Also I see we have a new sock group member! Yay! 🙂

  2. Glad to get a post from you Hannah, I’ve been wondering how you were getting along. Hope you get over the cold quick and start to feel more orientated re. your surroundings and get to make some friends soon ☺

  3. Congrats on making it over 🙂 It’s good to hear from you! Take your time, though, and settle in–the blog will be there when you’re ready. I hope you find a new place to live soon!

  4. You are definately pushing your comfort zones. It sucks that you get a cold and homesick and then have to share your wellness personal spaces, but things will start to settle soon no doubt. Sending chicken soup good thoughts.

  5. Wow, huge move! I totally hear you on the pigging out in private thing. I returned to work recently after a one year maternity leave and needed a pig-out at work as I was used to having a food-refuge during the day and needed one that day. Not such luck, staff walk into the break room and I had to hide my giant tub of rice pudding quickly. I have moved to eating chocolate in the morning before work, kind of preventative stress eating thing. Hope things are going swimmingly now.

    1. Food refuge is exactly what it is to me too! I love that name. I get what you mean about the preventative stress eating thing too – I was eating some m&ms on the way back to the hostel one day in preparation for having to look somewhat polite about eating them in the public eye. Pfftt. Yes, things are working out much better now thank you – I’ll keep you updated! 🙂

  6. Haha. I remember travelling in Canada and USA quite some years ago now. I know exactly what you mean about the supermarkets – there’s just so much!!! Hope you start to feel normal soon.

Leave a Reply

